Steering Committee

The Steering Committee provides guidance for the YODA Project, specifically in reference to developing processes for making clinical trial data available to external investigators, as well as processes for reviewing requests for these data. The Steering Committee is comprised of leaders in the fields of clinical research and biomedical ethics.

Ezekiel Emanuel Head Shot

Ezekiel J. Emanuel, MD, PhD – General Steering Committee Chair (2011-present)

Vice Provost for Global Initiatives, the Diane v.S. Levy and Robert M. Levy University Professor, and Chair of the Department of Medical Ethics and Health Policy, University of Pennsylvania

Jim Neaton headshot

James (Jim) D. Neaton, PhD (2011-present)

Professor of Biostatistics, University of Minnesota School of Public Health

Bruce Psaty headshot

Bruce M. Psaty, MD, PhD (2011-present)

Professor of Medicine, Epidemiology, and Health Services and Co-Director of the Cardiovascular Health Research Unit, University of Washington

Rita Redberg Headshot

Rita Redberg, MD, MSc (2011-present)

Cardiologist and Professor of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF), Core Faculty, Philip R. Lee Institute of Health Policy Studies, and Chief Editor, JAMA Internal Medicine

Dennis Thompson headshot

Dennis Thompson, PhD (2011-present)

Alfred North Whitehead Professor of Political Philosophy Emeritus, Harvard University, and Founding Director of the Edmond J. Safra Center for Ethics

Deb Zarin headshot

Deborah Zarin, MD (2011-present)

Director,, National Library of Medicine

The YODA Project would like to acknowledge the following additional individuals for their contributions to this endeavor:

  • Kevin J. Bozic, MD, MBA- Clinical Advisory Committee Chair (2011-2013)
  • Michael B. Bracken, MPH, PhD- Project Consultant (2011)
  • Allan Coukell, BScPharm- General Steering Committee Member (2011-2016)
  • Ralph I. Horwitz, MD, MACP- General Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)
  • Haiqun Lin, MD, PhD- Project Consultant (2011-2018)
  • Mark Litwin, MD, MPH- Clinical Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)
  • Sohail K. Mirza, MD, MPH- Clinical Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)
  • Sharon-Lise Normand, PhD- Project Consultant (2011)
  • Regis J. O’Keefe, MD, PhD- Clinical Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)
  • Steven D. Pearson, MD, MSc- General Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)
  • Daniel K. Resnick, MD- Clinical Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)
  • Marc F. Swiontkowski, MD- Clinical Steering Committee Member (2011-2013)